The Primolius genus includes three small Macaws native to South America.

Similar to the larger Macaws the Primolius have a large powerful beak, very long tail, lang, and a patch of naked skin extending from the eye to the lower mandible.

Primolius auricollis
Golden-collared Macaw

Primolius couloni
Blue-headed Macaw

Primolius maracana
Blue-winged Macaw

Species & Subspecies

  • Primolius auricollis (Cassin, 1853) - Golden-collared Macaw
  • Primolius couloni (Sclater, PL, 1876) - Blue-headed Macaw
  • Primolius maracana (Vieillot, 1816) - Blue-winged Macaw