The monotypic Thectocercus (Ridgway, 1912) genus includes a single Neotropical parakeet: Blue-crowned Parakeet.

The Blue-crowned Parakeet was until 2013 included in the Aratinga genus but recent DNA studies resulted in a split.

The five subspecies are native to Bolivia, Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Columbia and Venezuela.

It is a medium size parrot with an overall green plumage; the greater wing coverts are green and the tail is green with red in the inner webs.

The nominate subspecies has a dull blue colour on the forehead, crown, cheaks and ear coverts; the other subspecies has less blue colouration.

Most subspecies have a white eye-ring except the T.a. neumanni, which has an orange eye-ring.

Thectocercus acuticaudatus
Blue-crowned Parakeet

Species & Subspecies

  • Thectocercus acuticaudatus (Vieillot, 1818) - Blue-crowned Parakeet
    • Thectocercus acuticaudatus acuticaudatus (Vieillot, 1818)
    • Thectocercus acuticaudatus haemorrhous (von Spix, 1824)
    • Thectocercus acuticaudatus koenigi (Arndt, 1995)
    • Thectocercus acuticaudatus neoxenus (Cory, 1909)
    • Thectocercus acuticaudatus neumanni (Blake & Traylor, 1947)