The Psephotellus genus consist of four small Australian parakeets. These species was previously placed in the Psephotus genus but recent studies have placed them in the Psephotellus genus instead.

Common for all four species are sexual dimorphism.

Psephotellus chrysopterygius
Golden-shouldered Parrot

Psephotellus dissimilis
Hooded Parrot

Psephotellus pulcherrimus
Paradise Parrot

Psephotellus varius
Mulga Parrot

Photo credits:

  • Golden-shouldered Parrot : Per Sørensen
  • Mulga Parrot : Murray Hubbard

Species and subspecies

  • Psephotellus chrysopterygius (Gould, 1858) - Golden-shouldered Parrot
  • Psephotellus dissimilis (Collett, 1898) - Hooded Parrot
  • Psephotellus pulcherrimus (Gould, 1845) - Paradise Parrot
  • Psephotellus varius (Clark, AH, 1910) - Mulga Parrot